I'd like to see the process of opening and closing files streamlined.
Right now on open usine just says "open workspace?". It would be nice if, when the current workspace had NOT been saved, for usine to say "save current workspace before opening?", and if it WAS just saved, to skip the dialog entirely and just open the new file.
Same with quitting. The typical dialog is "save work before closing? Yes, No, Cancel" but usine just says "quit usine?" In both cases, usine is being less helpful than it could about keeping work saved.
These are both very standardized behaviours for computer apps.....
-e
standardize open and close process
-
woodslanding
- Member
- Posts: 1327
- senso
- Site Admin
- Posts: 4434
- Location: France
- Contact:
All the choices are made for live situation and MsOffice is not designed to be played on stage!
1) you're not supposed to modify your wkp on stage?
2) the current workspace is automatically saved in the file workspace.wkp.
I know that it can be strange but I don't think it's a big pb?
1) you're not supposed to modify your wkp on stage?
2) the current workspace is automatically saved in the file workspace.wkp.
I know that it can be strange but I don't think it's a big pb?
Olivier Sens
www.brainmodular.com
www.brainmodular.com
-
woodslanding
- Member
- Posts: 1327
You'd have to explain to me how the standardized approach would interfere in any way with live performance--it's not obvious to me., and I use usine in live performance virtually every day. Yes, office. Also, cubase, logic, protools, reaktor, etc.
I just believe it turns off potential new users when obvious things don't work as expected, and I'd like to see a more vibrant community, and more widespread acceptance, for Usine. I mentioned this issue because it's a small workflow enhancement that is very easy to implement.
After hundreds of hours, I'm surely used to the current method by now
-e
I just believe it turns off potential new users when obvious things don't work as expected, and I'd like to see a more vibrant community, and more widespread acceptance, for Usine. I mentioned this issue because it's a small workflow enhancement that is very easy to implement.
After hundreds of hours, I'm surely used to the current method by now
-e
Custom Ryzen 5900x MATX build, Win10, Fireface UFX, touchscreen
Custom 2 manual midi keyboard
Usine, Kontakt, Reaktor, Synthmaster, Byome, Arturia, Soundtoys, Unify
Custom 2 manual midi keyboard
Usine, Kontakt, Reaktor, Synthmaster, Byome, Arturia, Soundtoys, Unify
-
bsork
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1334
- Location: Asker, Norway
May I add a little suggestion? Add an option in the dashboard somewhere (I know it's crowded already!), that turns the check on and off. In a way I agree with both of you: On stage, I wouldn't like to get any prompts about saving, when pathcing etc it would be cool.
Bjørn S
-
woodslanding
- Member
- Posts: 1327
Nothing I mentioned causes a prompt at saving. Just a more informative one on opening and closing.....
but again--whatever. Not a big deal.
but again--whatever. Not a big deal.
Custom Ryzen 5900x MATX build, Win10, Fireface UFX, touchscreen
Custom 2 manual midi keyboard
Usine, Kontakt, Reaktor, Synthmaster, Byome, Arturia, Soundtoys, Unify
Custom 2 manual midi keyboard
Usine, Kontakt, Reaktor, Synthmaster, Byome, Arturia, Soundtoys, Unify
